Background & Acknowledgements


Team Planet was originally developed and written by Kathleen Horgan of Mary Immaculate College of Education, Limerick, Ireland as part of a broader programme of teaching and learning about development and environment issues. Team Planet was initially published by the College in partnership with Trócaire, the Catholic Agency for World Development. Over the years since its initial publication, the resource became very popular with primary teachers and we decided to update it and make it more broadly available through

This edition of Team Planet was updated and redrafted by Kathleen Gibbons.

This work was undertaken and funded by development education NGO 80:20 Educating and Acting for a Better World.

Artwork is by Rachel Abrahams, Barbara Nolan and Carla Daly.

Prepared for by Lewis Murphy, Ciara Regan and Toni Pyke

Principal teachers who made schools available for in-service development of Team Planet:
Vaughan Dodd, St. Cronans BNS, Bray, Co.Wicklow and Sr. Monica Mohally, Moyderwell Primary School, Tralee, Co.Kerry, Aengus Cantwell.

Members of the original Project Steering Committee:
Sr Angela Bugler, Dr Kieran Byrne, Mr Dermot Chadwick, Ms Patricia Conboy, Dr Áine Cregan, Dr Kathleen Horgan, Mr Ken Mawhinney.

Project Co-ordinators:
Dr Peadar Cremin and Dr Colm Regan

We would also like to sincerely thank the following individuals who assisted in many ways with the development of Team Planet:

Colin Byrne, Noelle Claffey, Sheila Dillon, Hugh Murphy, Ellen Leussink, Fergal McCarthy, Dr Donal O’Connor, Charlie O’Neill, Charlie O’Reilly

Thanks also to Trócaire for permission to update


We would like sincerely thanks the following schools for their participation in the project and for their many contributions to Team Planet:

  • Ballintemple NS, Crab Lane, Ballyphehane, Cork
  • Bray School Project NS, Bray, Co.Wicklow
  • Clogher NS, Ballymacelligot, Co.Kerry
  • Kilmacanogue NS, Co.Wicklow
  • Kiltallagh NS, Castlemaine, Co.Kerry
  • Marino Clinic, Bray, Co.Wicklow
  • Marino School, Bray, Co.Wicklow
  • Maria Assumpta (Snr. Girls), Ballyphelane, Cork
  • Marist Brothers, St. John’s School, Sligo
  • Moyderwell Primary School, Tralee, Co.Kerry
  • Newcourt School, Bray, Co.Wicklow
  • Our Lady of Lourdes, Ballinlough, Cork
  • Ravenswell NS, Bray, Co.Wicklow
  • Scoil Asicus, Strandhill, Co.Sligo
  • Scoil Barra (Girls), Beaumont, Cork
  • Scoil Barra, Ballincollig, Cork
  • Scoil Chríost Rí­ (Cailí­ní), Turner’s Cross, Cork
  • Scoil Chualann, Bray, Co. Wicklow
  • Scoil Mhuire and Chnoc, Corcaigh
  • Scoil Therese, Bishopstown, CorkScoil an Spioraid Naoimh, Cailini, Cork
  • Scoil MhicEasmainn, Ráth Rónáin, Trá Lí, Co. Chiarraí
  • Scoil Mhuire Leachán, Sligo
  • Scoil Phadraig, Market Square, Ballina, Co.Mayo
  • Sligo School Project, The Mall, Sligo
  • St. Andrews NS, Bray, Co.Wicklow
  • St. Columbas Boys NS, Douglas, Cork
  • St. Cronan’s NS, Bray, Co.Wicklow
  • St. Enda’s NS, Carraroe, Sligo
  • St. Fergals JNS, Bray, Co.Wicklow
  • St. Fergals SNS, Bray, Co.Wicklow
  • St Kierans Special School, Bray, Co.Wicklow
  • St. Patricks NS, Bray, Co.Wicklow
  • St. Peters BNS, Bray, Co.Wicklow
  • St. Vincent’s BNS, Sundays Well, Cork
  • Spa NS, Tralee, Co.Kerry
  • Tobar Muí Doire Trí Lí­, Co.Chiarraí­